Music Monday – Rilo Kiley

I’ve mentioned my love for Jenny Lewis on Style Sound in the past. I first came to know Jenny (like most others, I am sure) through her band Rilo Kiley. It’s no secret that I have a deep seated appreciation for indie rock, especially when it involves a female lead, so Rilo Kiley was a natural go-to for me in college… and still is. Many members of the band, including Jenny, have been involved in several other projects over the past few years so Rilo Kiley hasn’t been particularly active. However, this past year the band released a collection of never-released tracks on an album called rkives. I will admit some of the songs are no longer my typical music style preference, but there are quite a few gems on the album and it’s refreshing to hear some unheard songs from a band that will always hold a special place in my music library. Take a listen!

Any new music you guys have stumbled across yet this year? We would love to hear about it!

xo,

haley

Comments

  1. I was just listening to this album this morning. I totally miss Rilo Kiley but I’m loving Jenny’s new stuff. She’s even writing a song for GIRLS!

Leave a Reply

