Music Monday: Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band

I was sort of racking my brain this weekend deciding what to post about today, as I have a been a bit lackluster about searching for new music the past couple of weeks. I haven’t been able to plug into Spotify at work as often as I would like to, and I just haven’t run across anything life changing. I was doing some chores around the apartment and my fiance had his Spotify playlist going when Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley band popped up. I haven’t really listened to this album since college, but I realized it fit my mood exactly. This band was a project that Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes put together a few years ago with some other musicians on his label as well as the drummer from Rilo Kiley. It’s this great mix of Oberst’s interesting lyrics with an Americana/folk vibe – relaxing, yet toe tapping. Unfortunately the band was short lived and this is the only album they put together, but it’s one that I can continually come back to every so often. Take a listen!

 

Happy Monday!

xo,

haley

Leave a Reply

