How To: Sock Bun

I have had a few friends ask me how I make my sock buns, so I thought I would mix things up today and throw out a tutorial! What I have learned from my sock bun adventures is that the way one creates a sock bun can be dependent on the type of hair one has. My hair is naturally straight and quite slippery, so I find the following steps to work best. If you hair is really thick or has more texture, you may find you need to customize this process.

DSC_0221

The first thing you need is, obviously, a sock. You want a long-ish sock, preferably once that is close to your hair color – I stole one of my fiance’s dress socks. Cut the toe off of the sock so that you essentially have a tube. Starting on one end, roll the sock onto itself so that you create a donut. Brush your hair back into a ponytail and secure with an elastic hair tie, placing it where you want the center of your bun to end up. Thread your ponytail through the sock donut, and pull the sock up almost to the end of the ponytail.

DSC_0152

DSC_0156

DSC_0157

Tuck the last couple of inches of your ponytail under the back of the donut – this makes it easier to start rolling the sock down. Begin to roll the sock down your ponytail until it is tight to your head, Β (it takes me three rolls). Try to tuck in loose pieces as you go, but don’t worry about it too much.

DSC_0158

DSC_0162

DSC_0165

At this point, the sock should be tight against your head and most of your hair will be at the back and sides of the sock. Begin to rotate your hair around the sock until it is evenly distributed – it’s ok if the sock moves, too. You can also tug gently on the hair at this point to give your bun some volume if needed.

DSC_0167

DSC_0173

Use a few bobby pins to secure any stray hairs and to secure placement of stubborn pieces that won’t stay evenly distributed. Once you have your bun perfected, spray. And then spray some more. And maybe a little more πŸ™‚

DSC_0186

DSC_0194

DSC_0196

And that’s it! I hope you find this helpful, and perhaps you now have a new hairstyle to try out this weekend!

xo,

haley

Comments

  1. Caroline says:

    I’m TOTES going to try this!! Best walkthru I’ve seen πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. yes! more hair/makeup tutorials!!! You are adorable xoxo

  3. I feel as though this tutorial was for me…. And I loved it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

