The Perfect Coat

Photo taken by Amy Creyer of Chicago Street Style

Finding the perfect “dress coat”, as my mother would call it, is a true art form. We all have different body shapes, personal styles and skin tones… and these variables can change season to season, further complicating the search. My advice when searching is twofold: 1) If the coat doesn’t leave you buckling at the knees, then don’t purchase it. A coat isn’t something you need to have twelve of in your closet. A couple of good quality, chic, warm coats is all one really needs in their wardrobe. 2) Make sure to leave some room for extra baggage in the fit. A little bit of space can do wonders, whether it be to fit in a chunky sweater or a few extra pounds from the holiday season.

Ireland

I found my perfect coat back in 2010 when I lived in France and my fellow Style Sound-er Haley came to visit me. We went to tour London and Ireland, and to this day I am so thankful that she was there to push me over the edge to splurge at the store Next. After all, isn’t that what girlfriends are for? 🙂 It has been two years since, and the coat still looks good as new. It has traveled across Europe, kept me looking fabulous and warm for two very long mid-west winters, and I predict it has at least two more Chicago winters left in it.

london park

It might take a few wrongs before you can get a right, but in the end the search will be totally worth it. Have you found your perfect coat?

Have a fabulously warm weekend!

xo,

Karirn

Comments

  1. Awesome! Love that coat. I should probably get rid of the 15 extra coats I have in my closet from 10 years ago….

  2. You’re so cute! And that coats is so classic<3
    http://www.LoveNiki.com

  3. Gorgeous coat! I love the beautifully classic details!

Leave a Reply

