Music Monday: The Long Way Home

I can still remember the first time I heard May Erlewine‘s voice on her Mother Moon album back in 2007. It was a revelation of sorts. Every single song was soft, sweet and spoke to me on a personal level that I had never discovered in music before. I am confident that many of my friends and family hold the same sentiments as I. May is a beautiful story teller, a healer, a lover and fighter in addition to being someone so caring and involved in the community that every time anyone leaves her concerts they wish they could be a little bit more like her. She’s involved in countless grassroots initiatives, such as the run across Ethiopia, and constantly gives her all just to improve and keep safe the Michigan community which she calls her family and home.

The bottom line when it comes to May’s music for me is that it heals. Since five years ago when I discovered it, her music has never failed to make me feel joyous and happy. Her words give you the confidence to be you, and in dark times the confidence that with time and love everything is going to turn out just fine. She reminds you to live in the here and now and to not take advantage of any moment.

I can hardly contain my excitement about her new album “The Long Way Home” available now for purchase! I just listened to it for the first time the whole way through and it is truly a work of art. Like all of her other albums on the first listen through, I can’t stop grinning ear to ear. It fills you with love, hope and every good feeling imaginable. I guess, when it comes to May’s music, it leaves me speechless. There aren’t words to to adequately describe her talent. You are just going to have to take a minute to listen yourself. I promise you the purchase is worth every penny.

P.S. Make sure to check out if she is touring near you with her husband, an equally fine musician and humanitarian, Seth Bernard, here.

Thank you, May, for being a true inspiration. I look forward to listening to your music for many years to come.

Hope this will bring as good of a start to your week as it has to mine. 🙂

xoxo,

Karrin

Comments

  1. Caroline says:

    Oh I do love this song. Thanks for exposing me to all these great Michigan artists loveeeeeee

Leave a Reply

