Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys

Last week, Tyler and I were fortunate enough to spend our Sunday night getting serenaded by Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys  at an awesome dive bar, Simon’s Tavern, in Andersonville. It was the perfect way to start our week and it really got me to thinking…

As you have probably noticed, my love for Michigan music runs deeper than my love for any pair of stiletto heels. It heals me, makes me smile, and keeps me going day after day. Unlike my favorite pair of blue jeans, Michigan folk roots never wears down or needs mending, it is always there for me without fail. Music, unlike fashion, lasts a lifetime. The other day I found an old pack of CD’s from middle school in my car and was surprised to find that I knew every single word to every song on multiple different CD’s. How is that possible? Whether or not those albums reflect my current taste, I still remembered every last beat and that, my friends, is a powerful thing. On the other hand, when it comes to fashion (something that I love just as much but in a different way) I have a difficult time remembering what I wore a week ago, much less 10 years ago.

Photo taken by Tyler Sporer in November 2010

I recently just discovered the magic of Lindsay Lou and the Flatbellys and they do not dissapoint. Lindsay’s voice is the perfect example of something that’s here to stay. Her style is something that is fresh, new and unlike anything I’ve heard in a long time. Once you dig in you won’t want to let go. Her voice just sort of resonates and stays with you… and as the cherry on top, Lindsay is an incredibly sweet and kind soul.

If you ever have a chance to see them live near you (check out here their summer tour), you’ll get lost in the magical finger pickin’ of the Flatbelly’s and won’t be able to stay sitting in your seat. Their new album is at the tail end of production and will be available soon. Make sure to check it out!

Hope you have a wonderful week.

xoxo,

Karrin

Comments

  1. Beautiful post, I 100% agree xo

  2. So very true, and so beautifully written. Love you xoxo

Leave a Reply

