Music Monday: fun.

Feb252010_0211

photo by Andrea Kerbuski

I’m sure by now that most of you are aware of the existence of the band fun. due the crazy awesome success of their single “We Are Young” from their new album Some Nights. I thought I would take advantage of their current billboard status to feature them and encourage you, if you haven’t already, to listen to more!!

I have been following Nate Ruess, lead singer of fun., since my freshman year of college when he was part of a band called The Format. I was in LOVE with this band, and their last album Dog Problems is still one my favorites. So you can imagine my disappointment and heart break when the band split in 2008.

But then, shortly after, Nate Ruess joined up with Andrew Dost of Anathallo and Jack Antanoff of Steel Train to create a magical new project called fun. – one of the most musically creative bands I have listened to. The energy and passion that Nate Ruess and his band channel while on stage is a rare find, and you can’t not have a good time at their shows. I am also so impressed with their ability to produce pop rock songs that are so unique. Nate can sing incredibly high, and his band is full of an array of instrumental talent. None of their albums ever sound the same, but you can just tell that the songs were thought up of by these guys. I dare say that a few of their songs are so well produced that the band sometimes reminds me of Queen (which, I understand, is a bold statement, but I truly feel that way).

Here are a couple of my favorite songs from their older album, Aim and Ignite (sorry about the lack of video for “Be Calm”, but it was the best I could do):

So I hope this post has inspired you to check these guys out, if you haven’t already. I am so thrilled that they are getting so much recognition, because they deserve it, and I want to make sure it doesn’t slow down. Their recent show in Houston sold out, and that rarely happens at the venues I frequent in this city (which is why I have borrowed Andrea’s photo from when we saw them a couple of years ago, I could not get a good shot!). So awesome!

And, just because this post has me feeling a bit nostalgic, I thought I would include my favorite song by The Format, “Dog Problems.” Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

