Back to the Basics

DSC_0450.jpg

shirt: Banana Republic, jeans: Urban Outfitters, leather jacket: Made in Italy, shoes: H&M, leather gloves: NEXT, Watch: Michael Kors, sunglasses/necklace/bracelets/purse: Vintage

Do you ever have those days where you look at your closet and convince yourself that you “have no clothes”? Where you try on twelve different outfits and absolutely nothing works? I used to find that happened way too often in college and that’s when I decided I needed to start investing in the basics. A good pair of jeans and a crisp white button down can go a long way, especially when you find a staple that has a funky twist to match your personality. Take, for example, these high waist, bell bottom jeans that make me want to bust a move like my man J.T. in Saturday Night Fever. I swear, all the best items in my closet make me want to dance.

DSC_0415.jpg

DSC_0416.jpg
I bought this leather jacket when I was in Florence, Italy with my best friend Heather while having one of those shopping epiphanies. You know what I’m talking about, where you try something on and eureka, you just can’t leave the store without it. If I remember correctly, I was so in awe of the smooth, buttery touch and smell of the soft leather that I barely even tried to negotiate the price with the small Italian man. Needless to say, it was every euro well spent. It is to date the best piece I own in my closet.

DSC_0434.jpg

DSC_0401.jpg

DSC_0399.jpg

Next time you are at forever21 and find a steal on the latest trend I urge you to pass it up just this once.  Save that money to put towards solid piece like a good pair of jeans or a savory leather jacket that you can actually get some mileage out of. They will be your go to items on those days where you feel you have nothing else in your closet to satisfy you.

I hope you have a great weekend! Thanks for stopping by. Stay tuned for Music Monday’s post by Haley. 🙂

xoxo,

Karrin

Comments

  1. LOVE every one of these pictures. Especially the first one. High fashion meets industrial brick and those peripheral parallel lines bring my eyes directly to your face. You are so beautiful and you give great advice, because this is exactly what I’m going through right now. I had a online shopping bag filled at forever21.com, and after your post deleted it all because as cute as those items can be, you just can’t get years of good use out of them. I know this for a fact because I just clean & cleared my closet and have bags of shrunken, worn, and tattered items from forever 21. Items that I haven’t had nearly as long as my OWN favorite leather jacket 🙂 Thanks for the reminder KPo. Love you!

  2. So cute my love

  3. you look amazing Karrin! You look like your legs go on forever in those jeans, super cute outfit!

  4. Love love love Karrin!! You look flawless:) Hope you and Ty are doing well in the windy city!!

  5. beautiful karri. also that is my purse.

Leave a Reply

